X:I 01.11.14

img1548

If I have any voice on this blog, I hope it is somewhat anthropological – these are things I find, not things I endorse. There never seems to be a good time to say that, so I’ll just say it now and repeat myself every now and again.

WO7C48E 0StWKgT 32JjIhB cool-pics-373 O3eMlcG 3pEWaBy

~ by Andrew on November 1, 2014.

3 Responses to “X:I 01.11.14”

  1. Heh, I’m guessing the disclaimer at the top applies to the last image? It’s right that a lot of the cornerstones of the contemporary internet are riddled with issues. But places like 4chan and to a lesser extent the others have best demonstrated how places with zero moderation become internet garbage dumps where the signal to noise ratio is rubbish. The notion that they’re the epitome of what the internet is capable of kind of makes me ill, and I say this as someone with an SA account.

    • Re: my disclaimer, it applies to everything, though an image like that is relevant. It was an interesting reply to the original image, a little bit of signal in the noise from those at 4chan. It says far more about how 4chan wants to be seen than how I see it, and I wanted to make that clear.

      Re: 4chan as epitome, I’d say it’s more an anti-web2.0 thing than a pro-4chan thing, but I certainly see what you mean. Quibble: the lack of moderation applies to /b/ only. There are plenty of other (and better) boards that are fully moderated. The cornerstone of 4chan – anonymity – can make coverage at the very least unique, if not better.

    • Also, Etsy gets props from 4chan for being productive, who knew?!

Leave a Reply

 
